Marvel unveils Phase 4 slate of releases at SDCC

      Published on Tuesday, 23 July , 2019      954 Views     
Marvel unveils Phase 4 slate of releases at SDCC

  • Culture

On the heels of reports that Marvel’s Avengers:Endgame will become the highest grossing film of all time, beating Avatar, Marvel Studio’s President Kevin Feige pulled back the curtain on Phase 4 of the Marvel Cinematic Universe (MCU), which includes ‘Black Widow,’ Disney+ shows and sequels to ‘Thor’ and ‘Doctor Strange.’

“The Infinity Saga is complete,” Feige said at the San Diego Comic-Con Saturday.

The Infinity Saga spanned 11 years and included a whopping 23 movies. MCU now enters Phase 4 following the events of Avengers: Endgame.

Feige also surprised the audience by announcing the launch of movies like Black Panther 2, Captain Marvel 2 and new movies including Fantastic Four and Mutants. He also unveiled the movies’ casting, revealing that Mahershala Ali will be joining the MCU as Blade, the vampire hunter that was played by Wesley Snipes in three movies previously.

While those films don’t have dates, earlier in the panel Feige revealed that up first will be Scarlett Johansson’s Black Widow, which will open May 1, 2020 and is directed by Cate Shorthand.

The Eternals will follow on Nov. 6, 2020 and the cast will include Angelina Jolie, Richard Madden, Kumail Nanjiani, Brian Tyree Henry, Salma Hayek, Lia McHugh and Don Lee. Chloé Zhao is directing the film.

Feige also revealed the title for the new Shang-Chi movie: Shang-Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings, which he revealed will star Simu Liu as Marvel’s first Asian leading man. It will open Feb. 12, 2021.

The upcoming Doctor Strange sequel was revealed to be titled Doctor Strange in the Multiverse of Madness.

The next Thor movie was revealed to be titled Thor: Love and Thunder, and will debut Nov. 5, 2021 from filmmaker Taika Waititi.

Feige also announced the release dates of five new streaming series that will launch on the upcoming Disney+ service. The move shows unprecedented integration between Marvel Studios’ films and episodic offerings — previously, Marvel Studios films and Marvel TV shows could touch upon one another but rarely did, in part because Marvel Studios and Marvel TV have had different management.

Here’s the full slate:

Black Widow (May 1, 2020)

The Falcon and the Winter Soldier (Disney+, Fall 2020)

Eternals (November 6, 2020)

Shang-Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings (Feb. 12, 2021)

WandaVision (Disney+, Spring 2021)

Loki (Disney+, Spring 2021)

Doctor Strange and the Multiverse of Madness (May 7, 2021)

What If…? (Disney+, Summer 2021)

Hawkeye (Disney+, Fall 2021)

Thor: Love and Thunder (Nov. 5, 2021)

Category Culture | 2019/07/23 latest update at 4:31 PM
Source : Times of Oman | Photocredit : Google
Comments Add comment

Gulf Media

Related Articles

The editorial staff of Oman Today would like to give all of its readers from Oman and Gulf and the whole world the opportunity to participate actively in the development of the website! If you have something interesting, fun, scandalous - just something worth to be seen from more people. Capture it and share it in the Oman Today with a short text.

Do you have information you want to reach our readers?

Send article/s

You can subscribe to our Facebook, Twitter pages or use our RSS feed channel to always read the most important news about Oman, the Gulf and the world.